Detroit Today

SER Metro-Detroit Celebrates its 52nd Anniversary of the Annual Amigos de SER Business Recognition Luncheon

Matt Buckley

DETROIT, MI – On October 26, 2023, SER Metro-Detroit will proudly celebrate its 52nd Anniversary of the Annual Amigos de SER Business Recognition Luncheon at the MGM Grand Detroit

SER Metro-Detroit’s (SER) annual tradition of recognizing its partners, funders, and employers will take place at this year’s Amigos de SER Business Recognition Luncheon to be held at the MGM Grand Detroit Hotel on October 26th at noon. SER is honored to welcome Mr. Matt Buckley, as the keynote speaker. 

Mr. Buckley is President and COO of the Midwest Group, MGM Resorts International. With nearly thirty years of experience in hospitality and gaming, Mr. Buckley has held several hotel operations and marketing leadership positions in Boston, Reno, Las Vegas, and Detroit. He joined MGM Resorts in 2008 as the Vice President of Marketing in Detroit where he oversaw all marketing channels for the property including advertising, public relations, and special events. 

“It is such an honor to have Mr. Buckley deliver the keynote speech at our Annual Amigos event! I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Buckley for the first time during a recent visit he made to SER Metro where he toured our facilities and spent time talking with our staff and students. He left a lasting impression of being someone who cares and is deeply committed to the causes advancing the Detroit community’s well-being. ” said Eva Garza Dewaelsche, President and CEO of SER Metro-Detroit. 

The Amigos de SER Luncheon will include an awards ceremony recognizing the many partners, funders, and employers who invest in the Detroit community through SER’s work. This year’s “Amigo of the Year Award” will be presented to MGM Grand Detroit for their ongoing partnership and support of SER Metro’s programs for over 20 years. LM Manufacturing will be presented with the “Employer of the Year Award” for hiring more than 200 SER graduates and program participants during the past year. 

The Luncheon Program will also include special “Journey to Success” awards to the following individuals who successfully graduated and completed their programs: Arturo Lopez, Brianna Sadler, Edgad N. Urbina, and Sarah Williamson. Two additional graduates, Daisy Ovelle and Amarr Scott, will each receive $1,000 in honor of the “Frank D. Stella Scholarship Program”. All of our graduates are being recognized for their persistence and exemplary academic achievements. 

Click to comment
To Top